The governing and operational structure of RERA is as follows:

The Plenary

The Plenary is composed of all the Members of RERA and is the highest decision-making authority of the Association.

The Executive Committee (ExCo)

The Executive Committee conducts the affairs of RERA and comprises seven (7) Members: the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, the four (4) Chairpersons of the Portfolio Committees and the Host Country Member. The ExCo reports to the Plenary.

The Portfolio Committees

The four (4) Portfolio Committees have been established with each responsible for the execution of the objectives RERA, namely:

  1. Capacity Building and Information Sharing;
  2. Facilitation of Energy Sector Policy, Legislation and Trade;
  3. Consumer Protection and Communication Services; and
  4. Regional Regulatory Cooperation.

The Portfolio Committees report to the ExCo.

The Secretariat

The Secretariat is responsible for day-to-day activities of RERA and is permanently located in Windhoek, Namibia following a decision of the Plenary.


Subcommittees shall be established as determined by the Plenary from time to time with specific terms of reference and report to the relevant Portfolio Committees.

Other Organs

Other organs may be established in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution.

The Governance and Operational Structure of RERA


The Functional structure for RERA